Rome in September

On Sunday Sep 23rd, we stopped at the Spanish Steps for a photo, along  with a million other tourists!  After the sun went down, we found a table at one of the hundreds of open air restaurants nearby for dinner.  I love the evening atmosphere in Rome… so magical… outdoor cafe’s spilling onto tiny back alleys; cars, motorbikes, musicians, restauranteurs…Rome is definately La Dolce Vite.(the sweet life)  The other picture is us on day 3, at the Piazza Venezia; that’s the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier behind us. No-one can sit on those steps…they are under 24 hr guard. Dave got the afternoon off from work, and we took a tour to the catacombs just outside of the old city wall.  That was interesting and enlightening… I always thought that’s where Christians hid from persecution, but in fact that is only a legend…catacombs were Christian buriel places which formed a maze of alleys and tunnels in the volcanic rock underground.
The Vatican Museums, are breathtaking in the scope of the collections.  I loved the Raphael rooms.(left)  The incredible ceiling paintings throughout the whole expanse of the museums is absolutely jaw-dropping…and the Michelangelo paintings on the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel is but only one of them!  To the right  is just one of the decorated ceilings in a long hall, which was full of 15th century maps and artifacts.  Below is a courtyard in the museum.  Five days in Rome = happy Sally!

About Sally Chupick

The way light falls on form, that's what interests me. It effects not only what we see but how we feel about things. The challenge is finding a harmony in the complexity of it; mixing what I see and what I want to see to create my paintings. I work in oils and in watercolours.
This entry was posted in art history, inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rome in September

  1. Christine R. says:

    I loved Rome too. We went last May and really enjoyed it. Glad you did too :)

  2. Hi Christine! So much beauty beauty everywhere there.

  3. Barbara Muir says:

    Hi Sally,

    Lucky you, how wonderful! This is my dream. XO Barbara

  4. Holly Chupick says:

    Soooo excited to see the rest of your pictures this weekend! I love the picture of you guys on the steps..might have to blow this up for a frame. And I was smiling ear to ear watching the little video with Dad in it…he looks sooo relaxed and in his element. Glad you both had such a wonderful time

    • Hi Holly, Thanks for lookin! I will be real happy to show you the photos. There is a few other little vids too, but they take too long to upload onto Youtube in order to post them to my blog. I’ll show you them on the weekend. I am really looking forward to having the gang in for turkey lurkey and ham. …hey that sounds like the name of a Dr. Seuss book:) I have a little somethin for you and for Jeff.

Leave a Reply

